‘Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood!’

 

I have just been on another trip to London – excitement!!!

After our last amazing adventure in the fabulous capital of our wonderful country, I was uber (yes uber) excited about returning to London. Once again I can honestly say that I have had an inspirational two days. Here is what we got up to….

 

1. Pimms and the cosy, London pub.

On arrival to London my gorgeous fiance and I went for dinner at a lovely local pub. The food was delicious (and there was so much of it too) but the main attraction for us both was the ma-hooo-sive 1.5 litre jug of Pimms (with all the works) – we were blown away! So much for the glass we ordered!

With a lovely, friendly, ambiance and fabulous food  – what a great way to start our trip!!

         

2. Breakfast – The London way?!

I am fairly sure (but not completely) that what I perceive to be a ‘London breakfast’ is actually American but even so I watched what other Londoners seemed to be ordering for breakfast and I decided to have the same. One blueberry muffin and creamy latte later and I was set for my day ahead 😀

3. St Pancras Renaissance Hotel – wow!!!

If someone was to say to me ‘The Royal Family live in this building’ then I would nod my head and say ‘yup I can definitely see it.’ At first I thought that this incredible building was the British Library (which I had actually been searching for) but as I traveled closer to the building, completely missing the huge sign in front of me stating this was a 5 Star Hotel, I suddenly realised just where my Ugg boots were taking me. The building was one of the most beautiful pieces of architecture that I have even seen….I just couldn’t take my eyes off it!! This hotel is def on my list of places to stay – just wow!!

4. The British Library (not to be confused with St Pancras library)

I journeyed further up the road and, finally, found the British Library….and I am glad that I did as what I found there sums up my whole London experience. Although I didn’t actually enter the library I explored its surroundings and in doing so came across the most amazing quotes I have ever read. One quotation that really stood out to me was written on a simple, red plaque and stated:

“Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood”
Marie Curie

I was so amazed by this quotation that I took several pictures of it.
As I walked down the road, passing the amazing St Pancras Renaissance Hotel once more, I started to notice the people around me – and I mean really notice them. I stopped to people watch for around 20-30 minutes and was surprised to discover that everyone seemed so confident in who they were. You had the wanna-be wags with their tight jeans and Laboutine shoes (jealous) you had the business men and women who looked like they had stepped out of a Next catalogue, then you had the students, the wacky dressers, the tourists and the families. So many different people but they all had one thing in common – confidence.

My attention was curiously drawn to this one woman (actually she was a teenager but still) who was wearing a big, purple, baggy jumper with leopard print leggings on her bottom half.  Her hair was in a high bun on her head and she was wearing pumps on her feet. I will be honest, if I had seen this girl where I live I probably would have made some comment about her look, but today she stood out to me because her cooky way of dressing represented, what I imagined to be, her wacky personality. She didn’t care that she looked different, she didn’t care that people were looking at her but instead carried on walking with her head held high and you know what – a massive part of me wished I was her.

I have lived in fear for too much of my life!
I live in black clothes terrified to wear something colourful incase people judge me for making a fashion disaster! I tend to keep my life private incase someone mocks me for the decisions I make. So many times have I been terrified of going to London, or to new places, even out for a drink with my friends, because I am lacking that confidence to relax in who I am. That one girl showed me that being confident comes from being comfortable in who you are. I always perceived London to be a place where you had to look and dress in a certain way in order to blend and fit in – but you know what – London was screaming the word ‘individuality’ to me yesterday – London was telling me to relax and be myself.

5. Krispy Kreme Doughnuts.

My amazing fiance and I ended our two-day trip in London with, another coffee (addiction) and two Krispy Kreme doughnuts. This was the first time I had ever tried one and lets just say – I will be ordering a few boxes of those in the very near future!!!

If there is anything that I have learnt during this trip to London it is the following: London is not a place where people need to ‘fit in’ but is a place that accepts everyone for who they are. It has taken me so long to realise this but my fear of letting myself go and be who I truly am is because I never understood that it was ok to be different. I have spent so much of my life believing that I have stood out for the wrong reasons – I have spent so much of my life being afraid of who I am because I wanted so desperately to fit in. But as Marie Curie so rightly implies – I have nothing to fear anymore because I now understand that being different is how God created each and every one of us – and I for one am going to finally learn to love what He has created!!!!

x

P.S. For all you fashion divas out there – tangerine is soooooooo in right now!!!!

(Please note: all pictures were found on google images and may be subject to copyright law)

 

Published in: on July 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hanandherattitude.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/nothing-in-life-is-to-be-feared-it-is-only-to-be-understood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

