40 days and 40 nights….

Lent: 40 days and 40 nights of giving something up…easy?

Hardly!

I take on the lent challenge every year and every year it’s the same….

….cravings, over-indulgence and a vast amount of irritation.

So why bother?

The tradition of lent is a season of fasting and penitence in preparation for Easter. Although I celebrate leant with a Christian belief in mind, the tradition of lent is nowadays centered around the discipline of giving something up.

The facts:

The season of lent differs from religion/tradition-to-religion/tradition. This period of time is always 40 days and 40 nights but the start and finish dates vary. For certain religions, Sunday’s aren’t counted in lent (you get a day off) making lent a 40 day season over monday-friday. For most other traditional/religious beliefs, lent is simply a 40day period beginning on Ash Wednesday (the Wednesday after pancake day) and ending on Easter Sunday.

My Lent:

This year I have chosen to give up cakes, sweets; chocolate (except plain chocolate – I allow this to avoid low blood sugar) and biscuits. Yes this seems like an aweful lot to give up in one go (a challenge isn’t a challenge if it is easy) but I have chosen to give these items up because I over-indulge in them every day.

Giving something up for lent ulitmately forces you to face temptation. In deciding not to eat these food items I am craving them none-stop but I know not giving in is going to make me feel mentally and physically stronger and healthier (I always loose weight during this time of year)

Lent isn’t a bad tradition to take part in…it is fun (especially if you take on the challenge with friends) it provides you with the strength of resiting temptation and you can loose weight (if you give up food/drink products)

Don’t fancy giving something up?

A dear friend of mine reported that Twitter identified people were taking things up for lent. Maybe you could take on a new hobby for the next 40 days and nights.

Whatever you decide to do…give lent a go…you may be suprised at the outcome!

P.S. Keep a look out for my weekly updates on how my lent challenge is going.

xOx

Published in: on February 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hanandherattitude.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/40-days-and-40-nights/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I regard something really interesting about your web site so I saved to fav.


Leave a Reply

