Running a house…becoming a wife

Rustic cooking with Han.

I love cooking and I especially love learning about and creating new dishes. Over the last few weeks I have tried out some experimental cooking and have also “followed” some recipes. Here is what I have made so far….

1. Valentines Day had me being creative in the kitchen (as well as with arts and crafts) I wanted to express my love (cheeese) in a new but sweet way so I made some chocolate covered, vanilla love heart, exclamation mark, biccies.

Step One: Lightly grease a baking tray with butter and a smidge of flour.

Step Two: Place some flour into a mixing bowl (remember this is rustic cooking with Han so there are no exact measurements)

Step Three: Add some butter and rub together to make fine breadcrumbs.

Step Four: Stir in some sugar and vanilla extract (about a table-spoon of each) to creat a firm dough.

Step Five: Roll out the dough and cut out heart shapes.

Step Six: Bake in the oven (make sure it’s preheated) at 180*C/gas mark 4 for 15-20 minutes (or until slightly coloured)

Step Seven: Leave to cool. Once cold covered in melted chocolate. I added pink sparkles (edible ones) for a bit of jazz.

2. This week I made some guacamole….rustic style. (For anyone who is wondering what I mean by rustic I mean leaving things as lumpy or bumpy as they are…you’ll understand why in a mojo)

Step One: Peel and chop some avocado. Squirt a bit of lemon juice over the avocado so it doesn’t brown in the air.

Step Two: Caramalise (cover the ingredients in butter and fry on a low heat until sticky) some chopped red onion and red pepper.

 

 

Step Three: Place the avocado and caramalised onion and pepper (including the lovely oil that will be left in the pan) into a mixing bowl and mash together.

Step Four: Add around 2-3 table spoons (depending on your taste) of fat-free natural/greek yoghurt and stir.

Step Five: Leave to cool then serve.

I served my guacamole with peri peri chicken and my home-made paprika and ham potatoes.

Enjoy xOx 

Published in: on March 1, 2012 at 8:17 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hanandherattitude.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/running-a-house-becoming-a-wife/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] guacamole, healthy fats, lunch ideas, Recipe, snack, snack ideas, tortillas After reading a post of my friend Hannah’s blog about chunky guacamole, I realised I had never attempted making what is one my FAVOURITE dips, so I set off on my […]

  2. Hello.This post was extremely remarkable, particularly since I was searching for thoughts on this topic last Sunday.

  3. It is really a nice and useful piece of information

  4. An amazing article, thanks for the writing.


Leave a Reply

