Thoughts for today and three little inspiring quotes…

Someone once told me that what angers you about others is often a characteristic you will find within yourself. Recently I have come to understand what is meant by this.

If I look back upon my life I can see the same situations appearing over and over again. I sat down this weekend to ask myself ‘why?’

Why do I end up in the same situations? Why do I end up acting the same way? Why do I always trust the wrong people? Why do others feel they sometimes cannot trust me?

I have taken apart countless situations from my past and have found there to be two route problems; how I have behaved and how others have behaved. This was not an easy task, easy being to blame others and pretend I had nothing to do with what went wrong. However, finding the courage to understand and accept my part in certain issues not only allows me to change how I react but also allows me to stop them from happening again.

(This may all seem a bit vague as I’m not really willing to go into what has happened to spark this off…apologies but bare with me – there is a point to this blog – I promise!!)

I have come to realise that my behaviour usually consists of three things:

1. I have a biiiiggg, goby mouth at times and more often than not, what I say as a reaction is nearly always interpreted as my true feelings.
2. I have an uncanny ability to trust the wrong people (confidence issue – untrustworthy people are usually the people who will build you up, making you feel good about yourselves.)
3. I am quick to react rather than finding out the facts (which is ironic considering my conscious decision to over-think every action I make)

The above I can now identify as present in most of my past. They are characteristics I have identified in myself because they usually bug the hell out of me in others.

If certain habits are present in my life then how can I justify my anger at others when I represent the same things? I cannot change another person, it is their choice to decide how they want to live and the person they want to be. But I can try and change my bad habits/characteristics. I don’t feel that anyone has the right to mouth off about others (including me) when not one of us is perfect in any way.

So what am I going to do about it I hear you ask?

I have made a little list of my goals due to start this week:

* To put a stop to these irritating things I keep doing (this will be a gradual process but the point is – I’m starting)
* To not rise to the anger I feel when others hurt me (getting angry cannot be avoided but the important factor here is how you react to such anger)
* To always find out the facts first before making any decision
* To be aware that people may not want to change and to accept them as they are
* To keep myself to myself, if you don’t tell people your life’s story then you cannot blame them for passing the information on

Man, this whole ‘finding out who you are’ journey is epic, but stressful!!

So there you have it. My thoughts for the day, after a long and fairly crappy yet insightful week.

To finish off my thoughts I wanted to share with you the following three quotes…….

Arguing with a fool proves there are two.
Doris M. Smith

Be courteous to all, but intimate with few;
and let those be well-tried before you give them your confidence.
George Washington

Look to be treated by others
as you have treated others.

Publius Syrus

Have a good day all xOx

Published in: on August 19, 2012 at 11:00 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hanandherattitude.wordpress.com/2012/08/19/thoughts-for-today-and-three-little-inspiring-quotes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have already left quite a lengthy reply, but it seems to have disappeared?


Leave a Reply

